Skip to main content

Academic Calendar and Standardized Test Schedule

The current-year academic calendar and standardized testing schedule are outlined below. A link to a .PDF of the schedule is included at the bottom.

2018-2019 Academic Calendar


Day Date Event
Mon. - Tue. August 27-28 New Faculty Orientation
Wed. - Thur. August 29-30 Faculty Orientation
Saturday September 1 Student Leaders, International Students and New Students arrive
Sunday September 2 New Student Orientation
Monday September 3 Returning Students arrive, Student Registration 10am-1pm
Tuesday September 4 Student Orientation
Wednesday September 5 First Day of Classes
Thur. - Sat. October 11-13 Family Weekend
Mon. - Tue. October 15-16 No classes, students return to campus by 7pm Tue. 10/16
Wednesday October 17 Classes resume
Monday November 12 First Trimester Ends
Tue. - Thur. November 13-15 Mid-Year Exams
Friday November 16 THANKSGIVING BREAK: begins at 7:30am
Monday November 26 Faculty In-Service Day, no classes, students return by 7pm
Tuesday November 27 Classes resume, second trimester begins
Thursday December 20 Holiday Break: begins at 7:30am
Sunday January 6 Students return to campus by 7pm
Monday January 7 Classes resume
Fri. - Mon. January 18-21 Homecoming Weekend
Monday January 21 No Classes
Tuesday January 22 Classes resume
Thursday February 14 Second Trimester Ends
Friday February 15 WINTER BREAK: begins at 7:30am
Sunday February 24 Students return to campus by 7pm
Monday February 25 Classes resume, third trimester begins
Thursday March 7 Ring the Bell for Northwood
Friday April 5 SPRING BREAK: begins at 7:30am
Monday April 22 Students return to campus by 7pm
Tuesday April 23 Classes resume
Friday May 17 Senior Class Dinner
Saturday May 18 Commencement Exercises - Closed Weekend
Mon. - Fri. May 20-24 L.E.A.P Program
Mon. - Fri. May 27-31 Last Week of Classes
Mon. - Thur. June 3-6 Underclassmen Exams
Friday June 7 SUMMER RECESS: begins at 7:30am

 

Click here for a .PDF copy of the 2018-19 Academic Calendar.

                         

IMPORTANT MESSAGE FOR PARENTS:

Please note that all new students, international students, and student leaders are expected to arrive on campus on Saturday, September 1, 2018, for Registration and the start of Orientation.  Please do not plan to arrive earlier than September 1 as the faculty will not be on duty and, therefore, student rooms will not be available for occupancy.

Faculty and staff are on-duty only during school hours, and not during vacation periods.  Therefore, students are not allowed to either remain on campus during a break nor return to campus prior to School’s re-convening after a break. 

Class time and other school appointments are the foundation of what goes on at school.  Yearly schedules are published well enough in advance so that the school expects all students and their families to adhere to our departure and return times.  If, however, you cannot avoid early departure or late return, you must make arrangements with the Dean of Students in advance of your departure.  Should you elect to miss a school appointment, or because you place a higher priority on other events, then you have chosen to accept the result of that decision.

Under normal circumstances, such permissible absences are for family emergencies or religious reasons.  Students not excused for these reasons will work one hour in the service of the school for every class missed and WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO MAKE UP ACADEMIC WORK due to such an absence.  The school will not direct faculty to make up work or give alternative opportunities to complete tests or assignments.

2018-19 Standardized Testing Calendar


Test Date

Tests Offered

Test Location

Test Center Code

Aug 25

SAT and Subject Tests

Northwood 

33542

Sept. 8

ACT

Northwood or Plattsburgh HS

181280 or TBD

Oct. 6

SAT and Subject Tests

Northwood 

33542

Oct. 10

PSAT 8/9 – 9th

PSAT - 11th and 10th 

Practice ACT - 12th/PG

Northwood

N/A

Oct. 27

ACT

Northwood

181280

Nov. 3

SAT and Subject Tests

Northwood

33542

Dec. 1

SAT and Subject Tests

Northwood

33542

Dec. 8

ACT

Saranac Lake HS

160550

March 9

SAT and Subject Tests

Northwood

33542

April 13

ACT

test site near home

TBD

May 4

SAT and Subject Tests

Northwood

33542

May 6-17

AP Exams

Northwood

N/A

June 1

SAT and Subject Tests

Northwood

33542

June 8

ACT

Northwood or test site near home

160550 or TBD

Testing Schedule for Most Students

  • Step 1: Take the PreACT as a sophomore and the PSAT as a junior.  
  • Step 2: Take the February ACT or March SAT as a junior. 
  • Step 3: Optional: Re-take the SAT or ACT  in May or June of junior year.  
  • Step 4: Study hard during the summer and take the August SAT or the September ACT as a senior.
  • Step 5: If you're still not satisfied, you have one last shot as a senior for the late fall SAT and ACT. 

English language learners take the TOEFL in the fall or spring. Coordinate testing dates with the Director of International Students, who approves all TOEFL testing before students register.